When?

When was it I got to be
my own self’s own worst enemy?

When was it that I became
myself unable to make tame?

When did I start to believe
more in my demons than in me?

When did I start to feel shame
for that which I am not to blame?

When should I start to look past
the things that I cannot recast?

When should I start to feel peace
that in my present roam no beasts?

When can I myself unmask
as free of pain, as free from farce?

When can I myself release
from this dark place myself I keep?

When that day comes to myself swear:
never again I’ll come back here.

Leave a Reply

